Who We Are

Scholarship Selection Committee:

The Moody Scholarship Selection Committee is comprised of five individuals with extensive backgrounds in Admissions, Financial Aid, Academic Administration and Business. This group meets three times each year to evaluate, select, and renew the pool of applicants. Please refer to each of their backgrounds below.

Al Bormann Jr. – (Moody Scholars Selection Committee since 1994)
Mr. Bormann retired as Director of Student Financial Aid at Texas A&M University after 36 years of service. He holds degrees from Blinn College and Texas A&M University. He now holds the title of Director Emeritus of Student Financial Aid conferred by the Board of Regents, The Texas A&M University System. He also continues to hold the position of head usher for the Texas Aggie football program since 1972. Before joining Texas A&M, he spent some time in the commercial banking industry in Brenham and College Station. He has held leadership positions on local, state, and national levels. Some of those groups include: The Moody Foundation Scholarship Committee, the Franklin Lindsay Student Aid Foundation, The Terry Foundation, and The American Heart Association. Also, long standing membership with The Association of Former Students and The 12th Man Foundation of Texas A&M.

Gaynelle Hayes, Ed.D– (MSSC since 1992)
Administration at Galveston College. She is a licensed professional counselor and has held leadership positions at local, state, and national levels. She has also served on local directorate boards for The Rotary Club of Galveston, The Mental Health Association, The Children’s Center, The American Cancer Society, and the City of Galveston’s Family, Children, and Youth Board. She is also on the Board of Directors for the United way of Galveston.

Raymond Lewis – (MSSC since 2000)
Ray retired after 35 years with the University of Texas Medical Branch- Galveston. The last 25 years were as Associate Dean in The School of Health Profession. He earned his bachelor’s degree from Huston-Tillotson College in Austin, TX and completed his graduate work at the University of Houston. While there, he earned a master’s degree in Clinical and Administrative Social Work. He also completed the Management Development Program at Harvard University. He currently provides consultation in organizational effectiveness and staff development. He remains active on several city of Galveston appointed boards and is an elected member of the Board of Regents at Galveston College where he serves as Vice Chairman of the Board.

Jim Reinhartsen – (MSSC since 2004)
Jim is the Past President of the Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership and a strong advocate of education. He came to Houston in 1966 to support the Apollo program through the Grumman manufacturing facility. When Department of Defense priorities shifted, Jim remained in the area and in 1993 was elected to head the Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership. At the helm of this organization, he helped to diversify the economic profile of the area to become less dependent on the Aerospace industry. He serves on many boards and organizations in the area.

Alfred Rodriguez – (MSSC since 1993)
Fred has over 25 years of experience in higher education administration and is currently the Registrar at Trinity University in San Antonio. Before moving back to his hometown in 2000 to join the staff at Trinity, he held administrative positions in enrollment services at Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, and the University of Houston. He earned his Bachelor’s degree from the University of Texas at Austin, and a Masters in Education Administration from the University of Houston.

Over the course of his career, Fred has been actively involved with various higher education professional organizations on the state, regional, and national level. He has conducted numerous presentations and workshops, and has served in leadership positions including President of the Texas Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers, Board of Directors for the Information Associates of Texas, and Executive Committee Chairman of the Franklin Lindsay Student Aid Fund. He currently resides on the edge of the Texas Hill Country, just outside of San Antonio, with his wife Laurie, daughter Jessica, and son Daniel.

Scholarship Administrator:

Samantha Seale is the current Scholarship Administrator and
the contact for anything regarding the Moody Scholarship Program.

Ms. Samantha Seale
Scholarship Administrator / The Moody Foundation
2302 Post Office St # 704
Galveston, TX. 77550
Ph: 409.797.1511
Fax: 409.763.5564
Email: Samanthas@moodyf.org